Sonal Mansingh, Anant Mohapatra to receive ‘Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra’ award


In its 30 year of establishment, iconic Odissi dance institution Srjan Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Odissi Nrityabasa (instituted on September 3, 1993) continues to host its flagship annual classical dance and music festival in memory of Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra, with the aim of creating and sustaining awareness of our classical traditions in dance and music.
The 29th OMC Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra (GKCM) Award Festival 2023, is organised by Srjan annually and will be held in collaboration with the institutional support of Sri Sri University, Cuttack from September 5-9 at Rabindra Mandap at 7 pm each day.
The coveted award Presentation ceremony will be hosted on the fifth day after four evenings of scintillating dance and music performances designed with an eye on the most suitable combination of artistes and genre, and concludes with a grand finale by the Srjan ensemble.

This year, the Awards are being presented to two iconic figures in India’s rich and diverse cultural milieu. The Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award 2023, carrying a respectable allocation of Rs. 1,00,000/- and a citation, will be presented to Dr. Sonal Mansingh, Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) for her immense contributions to Odissi dance and to Anant Mahapatra, for his outstanding lifetime achievements in the realm of Theatre.

Additionally, the Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Yuva Pratibha Samman 2023, with a cash prize of Rs. 25,000/- and a citation will be presented to four exceptionally talented performing artistes under the age of 40 years in the field of classical dance and Odissi music to acknowledge their outstanding performances. Arupa Gayatri Panda and Siddhi Waikar will receive the same for Odissi dance, while Vishal Krishna will be honoured with the Yuva Samman for Kathak and Arup Das for Odissi music(Mardala).

This edition of the Award Festival will witness solo dance performances accompanied by a live orchestra in the first half of each evening, followed by Odissi dance recital by Shashwati Garai Ghosh, followed by the Carnatic music recitals in the second half. The inaugural evening will violin duo of Lalgudi GJR Krishnan and Lalgudi Vijayalakshmi Subsequent evenings present Kathak by Shila Mehta, Bharatanatyam by P Praveen Kumar, and Kuchipudi by Amrita Lahiri Each of these dance performances will be followed by musical recitals that feature a Hindustani vocal rendering by Jayateerth Mevundi, a Sitar musical by Niladri Kumar and a table recital by Akram Khan, respectively.
On the concluding evening Srjan team led by Ratikant Mohapatra will present excellence in Art and beyond, a refreshing amalgam of the traditional and the experimental in a bouquet of neo- classical choreographs in Odissi dance. Ideated as beautiful and evocative blend of distinctive elements of the Odissi margam subsumed into modernity.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.