Noted Music composer Swarup Nayak cremated with state honours


Cuttack: Eminent Music director Swarup Nayak’s last rules were performed with state honours at Satichaura Cremation Ground in Cuttack Saturday.

The last rites were performed by his elder daughter Nibruti with full State honours at Satichaura cremation ground in Cuttack City.

The septuagenarian was given a ‘guard of honour’ by Odisha Police. Later, Nibruti gave Mukhagni (a funeral custom) to her departed father in the presence of family members, relatives and well-wishers.

Nayak’s mortal remains were earlier carried to Satichaura for cremation as per the Hindu rituals.

Eminent and Popular music director and composer Swarup Natyak passed away Friday while undergoing treatment at a private hospital in Cuttack Friday. Nayak was diagnosed with throat cancer and was under treatment for past several years. He was 76.

Nayak has made significant contributions to the Odisha film industry through his music composing and direction. Some of his best works include ‘I Love You’, Pua Mora Bhola Shankar, Udandi Sita, Sashu Ghara Chalijibi, Mana Rahigala Tumari Thare. Odia movie industry is griefing for this great loss.

Odisha Chief Minister, Naveen Patnaik condoled the death of Swarup Nayak and said; “I am saddened to know about the demise of Swarup Nayak. His unique music compositions will always remain special in the hearts of the listeners. He will be remembered forever for his valuable contribution to enriching the world of Odia cinema.”

Born on February 8, 1946, Nayak started his career in Odia film industry as a child artist in 1962 with ‘Laxmi’, followed by ‘Kaa’ (1965), ‘Stree’ (1968), ‘Suna Sansara’ (1977) and many more including ‘Jaga Balia’ and ‘Dora’. ‘Kalinga Putra’ was Nayak’s last film as an actor, which was released in 2008.

Started in 1984 with the film ‘Hira Nila’, Nayak went on and composed music for around 40 films and wrote songs for nearly 30 films. Some of his notable films are ‘Pua Mora Bhola Shankara’ (1996), ‘Sahara Jaluchi’ (1998), ‘Sindura Nuhen Khela Ghara’ (2002), and ‘Swayamsiddha’ (2010).


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.