Odisha to organize 2nd edition of National Road Safety Short Film Festival


Bhubaneswar: The 2nd edition of National Road Safety Short Film Festival was launched in Bhubaneswar Tuesday.

The festival aims to raise awareness of road safety issues and promote increased engagement in road safety cooperation in the state of Odisha as well as across the nation to reduce the road accidents and fatalities related to it.

Speaking at the launching ceremony of the festival, TukuniSahu, Minister, Commerce & Transport who graced the occasion as the Chief Guest said, “Every life is precious.Road safety is a high priority area for our Government.Short Films can be an effective tool of communication for spreading the message of Road Safety.”

Addressing the gathering, Sunil Kr. Bansal, DGP, Odisha who graced the occasion as the Guest of Honour said, “As a society we have become insensitive to road accident deaths. Road accidents and fatalities related to it are like slow haemorrhage. Over speeding is the root cause of many road accidents. Road safety is a shared responsibility. Together we can make a difference.

Earlier during his welcome address, Amitabh Thakur, Transport Commissioner said, “The festival offers an unbiased and a democratic space to storytellers, who are willing to share their ideas about road safety through the audio-visual medium.Like last year the festival will be in two categories- Odia language & Non-Odia language, subtitles in English must for all the entries.The festival will offer cash prizes in different categories worth Rs. 8 lakhs plus.”

The last date of entry submission is 17thNovember, 2023. Winners will be selected by a judging panel of film industry professionals and non-industry professionals, luminaries from different walks of life.

During the launching event, jury members for the festival were introduced which includes Archita Sahu, Film Actor & Model, Arun Bothra, Addl. DG, CID-CB & MD, CRUT, Jitendra Biswal, Disability Rights Activist & State Awardee Cine Actor, Kuna Tripathy, Chairman, OFDC &Odia Film Actor Raghvendra Kumar, Helmet Man of India, Sabyasachi Mishra, Odia Film Actor & Social Worker, Bhubaneswar, Sidhant Mohapatra, Veteran Odia Film Actor. Former Member of Parliament, Sujit Mahapatra, Secretary, Bakul Foundation & Author, Sneha Mishra, Social worker & Activist, Sofia Alam,Odia Film Actor & Youth Leader and Varsha Priyadarshini, Film Actress & Social Activist, Founder, Sammanita Filmmakers, amateur film enthusiasts and students can submit their entries.

The film can be a Documentary, Experimental, Narrative, Fiction, Non-fiction or Animation. Total duration of film can be maximum 120 seconds (2 minutes) in length, including front and end credits.

Filmmakers can mail their entry via Google drive or We Transfer Link to roadsafetyshortfilms@gmail.com. All the details are available on http://odishatransport.gov.in/.

The Prize money in different categories are Best Film will get Rs.1,00,000, First Runner Up-Rs.80,000, Second Runner up-Rs.60,000, Best Director: Rs.25, 000, Best Music: Rs.25, 000, Best Cinematography: Rs.25, 000 and Best Actor/Actress: Rs.25, 000

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.